lateral transfer

Discussion in 'Civil Service' started by braxton5, Mar 26, 2016.

1. braxton5

braxton5 New Member

I am a full time police officer in a western mass city and have been for approx 3 years. I have been looking to lateral transfer out east near boston for family reasons. Does anybody know what departments take lateral's and how to go about the process. Brookline, watertown, medford, natick, etc. are some of the departments i have in mind, Brookline probably being the first choice.

2. j809

j809 Subscribing Member

I'd check the job postings on Extranet. Once you apply , all you need is both chiefs to be on-board and sign the transfer , otherwise its a no go

3. felony

felony MassCops Member

Brookline doesn't take laterals. If you work for a CS department, the town administrator can deny your transfer. So if the town administrator wants to be a dick, he can deny your transfer and you have no recourse.

4. braxton5

braxton5 New Member

thanks. Does anyone know which cities or towns in the Boston area take laterals regularly? I've looked on extranet before but alota the jobs I see on there are for dispatchers and shit not for full time patrolman, and Ive rarely seen any postings on there for departments in the boston area

5. j809

j809 Subscribing Member

Tewksbury closest one listed now

6. sf1530

sf1530 MassCops Member

I know one person who transferred to Boston PD from NYPD, but I have no idea if they still do it.

7. USAF3424

USAF3424 MassCops Member

He didn't transfer. He got hired off the list and went to the BPD academy.

8. woodyd

woodyd MassCops Member

How is that possible? Don't you need Boston residency to be on the BPD civil service list but you obviously couldn't live in Boston and work for NYPD.

9. j809

j809 Subscribing Member

Maybe a person that their parent was a deceased police officer

10. USAF3424

USAF3424 MassCops Member

Resigned from NYPD and moved back to the city prior to the exam.

woodyd likes this.