Probation & Parole

Discussion in 'Corrections' started by DEPAROLE, Sep 29, 2010.

1. DEPAROLE

DEPAROLE New Member

Hellon everyone,

I am a State Probation/Parole Officer for Delaware. I was wondering what is Massasschusetts deal with probation/Paorle. Are they under DOC? are the separate or one agency? Do they carry? Are the sworn? And where do you find out about employment? In Delaware, probation and parole are under the DOC. We are sworn officers with full police powers. I have searched the internet over and over and cannot find anything about the State Parole or State Probation.

Thank You for you help
  2. wb08

wb08 MassCops Member

Up here probation officers do not have any police powers. Employed by the Trial Court, rarely leave the Court House.
  3. mtc

mtc High Priestess Staff Member

Probation department is where the hacks put many of their family and friends when they can't get a job otherwise.
  4. cc3915

cc3915 Masscops Angel Staff Member

Massachusetts Parole Board - Executive Office of Public Safety

The Office of the Commissioner of Probation
  5. Rock

Rock Undefined

Completely and utterly untrue.

It depends on the chief of that courts department but Probation officers routinely make home visits to the people they supervise. They have limited powers of arrest meaning if they have someone they are supervising that has a warrant or they find a violation of their probation contract they can detain but it becomes an issue where they have to call the police to transport and process or book. Years ago they used to carry but have since gone to a "softer" approach. They are allowed to carry pepper spray and handcuffs.

They fall under the Mass Trial Court system but are their own department; separate from parole.
  6. Foxy85

Foxy85 MassCops Member

To touch on this.

The job is very political. Any job within the state has some degree of politics in it....Welcome to Massachusetts.