Random Question/Training Safety

Discussion in 'Miltary | DOD Police' started by Krav-ist, Sep 6, 2013.

1. Krav-ist

Krav-ist New Member

Hey all.

First off, thanks to all military personnel for their service to our country. I have a question that still hasn't yielded to a good half hour of googling, so hopefully the fine people of this board can help me out.

I'm a defensive tactics instructor for my department. Unfortunately, injuries (while they can be minimized by being careful and smart) are pretty much inevitable in training. In the boxing portion of my academy, for instance, we had a least a half dozen concussions and (I think) a broken face-bone or two. Its a tough tightrope to walk between intensity/realism and safety. (I use the example that it would be great training for me to do several lines of meth and attack my coworkers with a machete, but that would have an uncomfortably high rate of officer-related stabbings and instructor-related lead poisoning. Whereas something like shadowboxing is fairly safe but doesn't have the same training value as an actual fight. And yes, I know shadowboxing is important because fundamentals matter, I'm just illustrating a point. You need to strike a balance.)

Anyway, while talking about this with a coworker I mentioned that elite military units can average a death a year in training. I thought about it later, and realized that I read this in a Tom Clancy book.

So I'm wondering how true it is. Like I said, its tough to find statistics on training deaths, period. A death a year for (relatively small) elite special forces units seems high, but considering the inherent danger of certain high risk operations (like parachuting into water or wrestling crocodiles, which I presume special forces do regularly) it doesn't sound that crazy. I'd love to hear what Masscops thinks.

2. HousingCop

HousingCop Czar of Cyncism and Satire

00e0e_1pDzEwBHdFq_600x450.jpeg
    I.B.T.L.

Killjoy, frank, Pvt. Cowboy and 2 others like this.